Wedded Wednesday – Our Story Continues

The early evening sun dropped behind Camelback Mountain bathing the boulders in shade and providing relief from the summer heat.

Next to one of those boulders, scattered about the base of the mountain, I found Josh, waiting with a big grin on his face and a warm welcome, even for the girl with the attitude.

Young and in love
Young and in love

Just like the mountain crags were muted by the dusk, my sharp edges instantly softened around Josh, as happens to people meeting him. I quickly knew that I wanted him to be a part of my life. We swapped tales of our shared loves of mountain biking and climbing. He intrigued me with stories of his canyoneering and rafting adventures (activities I hadn’t yet tried, but was excited about) and inspired me through his fledgling business and ministry.

My birthday was the next week. Being a work night, I chose to celebrate with a night time mountain bike ride. Just as I arrived back at my front door, my cell phone buzzed. Josh was calling to invite me on a canyoneering outing. Though we just met, I couldn’t be happier to share my birthday with him.

A couple weeks later, Josh joined me for a night ride. Our canyoneering adventure followed soon after.  He welcomed me into his adventures and we started to create new ones all to ourselves. Five months after meeting, Josh spent Christmas in Oregon with my family. Things were getting serious.

We've come full circle with our bouldering baby
We’ve come full circle with our bouldering baby

I met Josh when I was 27, a time when many college friends had been married for a while and starting families. It was starting to feel like maybe I had been left behind.  But thankfully, I’m never forgotten or left behind – there is always a plan and purpose in place for my life. Even when I almost get in the way of myself. In this case it was a plan very much worth the wait – our life; our adventures together have been bigger than I dreamed.

I’m so thankful for these times in my life where God’s faithfulness shines. Whenever I feel impatient or stuck, I love to reflect back on these stories.

“For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” Jeremiah 29:11

Messy Marriage

 

One thought on “Wedded Wednesday – Our Story Continues

  1. Pingback: Happily Ever After – Josh & Aminda Couple's Guide

Leave a Reply

