Spring Fever

March seems to have slipped by almost unnoticed in our house.  Josh and I returned to Red Rocks while he was on spring break.  We enjoyed more comfortable temperatures but endured hordes of college kids.  Fortunately, we managed to find the perfect buffer between us and the kids – an retired RV-er.  Finding ourselves facing a full campground, we jumped at an offer to share a site with a solo retiree.  Don kept us entertained over dinner with stories of his years in the navy, seven kids, May-December second wife and well, I guess that’s about all. But he really made the most out of those stories, telling them each repeatedly.   

 For the most part we get on well with the retired crowd, only finding that we get a little too much of them during our weekly lap swim.  OK, maybe more like “see” too much…in the locker room.  Apparently, the older you get, the more comfortable you become in your own skin, regardless of how saggy it becomes. And that’s probably enough said about that. 

 So, moving on…the rain has passed leaving beautiful green hills and colorful wildflowers behind.  Spring is an exciting time of year in the Valley as we get a momentary break from the usual dry, dusty landscape.  This is also the time of year when Josh starts getting a little melancholy as he realizes that he’s going to be hot every day for the next seven months.  Josh’s eastern European blood is challenged by the desert.  He tried for years to escape, living in northern Arizona and then Northern California, but always returning.  I suppose he had to be around to meet me. 

 I handle the summers much better, but still find it takes some adjustment this time of year.  It takes a while to realize I no longer have to carry my fleece hat and gloves in my climbing pack.  I have to readjust to fighting the sweat in my eyes as I run or bike. I usually find my running pace becoming a little slower each month until August when it turns into more of a shuffle.  I’ve forced myself to stay motivated this year by registering for a June triathlon. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

